Music Friendly Declaration

On Friday, city leaders, chamber members and local business owners assembled at historic Gruene Hall to accept the Texas Music Office award designating New Braunfels as a Music Friendly Community. This program seeks to foster music business economic development in Texas cities and communities. It was a fitting place to make the presentation since Gruene Hall is the oldest continually operated dance hall in Texas. Built in 1878, Gruene Hall was one of the first venues in New Braunfels to host concerts by Texas artists and national touring acts.

Mary Jane Nalley, who along with Pat Molak, owns the hall and got the event started promptly at 11am. From the stage decorated to resemble a comfy living room, along with a guitar signed by LeAnn Rimes, Nalley welcomed the crowd and introduced the featured guest speakers. Council member Shane Hines, the Texas Music Friendly Program Initiator, acknowledged his love of live music and stated it was one of the reason his family lives in New Braunfels. Wes Studdard, Chair of the Board for the Chamber, spoke next and mentioned that this designation is just another reason that New Braunfels was voted as one of the Top 25 Places to live in America. He spoke of the huge part that music plays in our city and that the chamber is committed to supporting our local music scene. He also announced a new website,, a site that features information on local musicians, painters, writers, sculptors, directors and other creative artists who live and create here.

Next came a short video played on two large screens positioned on both sides of the hall that featured Chip Adams, the Program and Designation Coordinator of the Texas Music Office. Adams welcomed New Braunfels to the growing list of Music Friendly Communities that includes Fort Worth, Austin, San Antonio, Denton, Lindale, Stephenville, Conroe, San Angelo, Nacogdoches, Abilene, McKinney, Waxahachie, Waco, Alpine and Bastrop. He spoke of how the current pandemic has hurt the music industry and was confident that New Braunfels and the other cities in the group will lead the charge in bringing our live music back stronger than ever.

Senator Donna Campbell was on hand to present New Braunfels Mayor Rusty Brockman with the official plaque to proclaim that our city was now included in the group as determined by the Texas Music Office. Senator Campbell also mentioned the pandemic and the effect it has had on the $23 billion dollar business that the music industry brings to the state of Texas. The event ended after Mayor Brockman read the proclamation and thanked everyone for their support in helping achieve this award.

This entry was posted in Columns, Music News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.